October 6, 2008

National Honor Society - Inductees

National Honor Society inducts new members

The SHS National Honor Society held its yearly induction ceremony on Friday, April 24. Twenty-three new members and officers were admitted into the society.

The new members of the NHS are seniors David Bell, Todd Smurl, Kim Weser, Sherry Adams, Jeff Cato, Teri Davis, Melissa Evlitt and Brian Gartman; juniors Trent Allen, LaRita Ashcraft, Vicki Ausbrooks, David Damron, Paula Ferguson, Cindy Grace, Joomi Ha, Renee Holmes, Travis Miller, Jim Pollock, Angela Rogers, Vicki Thompson, Marlena Ukno, Kim Vailes and Aaron Wilson.

The officers of the National Honor Society for 1987-88 are Trent Allen, president; David Damron, vice president; Paula Ferguson, secretary-treasurer; Joomi Ha, reporter; Cindy Grace, historian and Kim Vailes, parliamentarian.

These students were selected based on four qualifications: character, scholarship, leadership and service. A list of students having at least a 3.5 grade average was sent to every teacher who rated each student. Students receiving a certain average score were decided upon by a committee of no less than four teachers. The administration then okayed the chosen students for admission.

1 comment: